« CHQ QAL - Assemble the quilt top | Main | Solids and Prints part 2 »

February 17, 2011

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Sequana

It seems to me that the really important part here is to choose a print with LOTS of color in it, huh?

In your example, is there a match for all those solids in the print, or does the eye just make it seem that way?

Cherri House

For this example, yes...picking a print w/lots of colors aids in creating a successful quilt. This way there is less opportunity to have it go wrong. No, there isn't a match for every color in the print. I kept the value of the solids fairly tightly controlled from a light to medium range...again, this helps eliminate the possibilities for error.

Good question...thanks for asking :-)

kristel

That's a really cute pattern, and a really great way to use a print with solids.

I wonder how it'd look done in reverse, with a single solid and a bunch of different prints. (Busy, obviously, but maybe interesting.)

Debbie-Esch House Quilts

Very cute quilt!

I hate those international symbols on the clothes - I can never remember what any of them mean :)

 Michelle | Cloud9 Fabrics

I adore this block! The overall effect is wonderful. And I love when people accent prints with solids- it just makes everything pop.

Heather

I love that you made a block based on the international symbol to dry clothing in the shade. Genius!

Tina in Boston

My first thought was that you are a genius, too Cherri! Has anyone had trouble downloading the file? I got a window when I clicked the link, but there was no file.

Cherri House

Hi Tina,

I think it must have to do with the computer you are on...one computer I used did the same thing, the other allowed me to access the pdf.

Cherri

Deanna

This is a great block - love how you mixed the print stripes with the solids. Deanna

The comments to this entry are closed.

About Also

City Quilts - my book!!!


CHQ Quilt Along


Let's Go Home!

Quilt Places

Play Fair

  • © Lizzy House all rights reserved
    No portion of this website may be copied, or used without the written permission of me, the author, Lizzy. So, please contact me for use and licensing. 2007-2010
Blog powered by Typepad

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

STAT COUNTER


Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter
    Business Directory for Humble, Texas

    Little Bouquet Quilt Along

    How to Enter the World of Textile Design: e-book!


    E-junkie

    • E-junkie Shopping Cart and Digital Delivery

    Lizzy House Pattern Shop!